the former

Sheffield Hebrew Congregation

Sheffield, South Yorkshire




Page created: 18 April 2003
Latest revision or update: 7 May 2017

Congregation Data

Official Name:

Sheffield Hebrew Congregation

Also previously known as:

Great Synagogue, Sheffield and

Sheffield Old Hebrew Congregation

Last Address:

11 Wilson Road, Ecclesall, Sheffield, from 3 April 1930. (Foundation stone laid by Lionel N de Rothschild, Esquire, O.B.E. Corner stone laid in 1929 by Harris Stone, President).

Following the merger of the congregation in 1953 (see below), this address continued as the address of the successor congregation.

Previous Addresses:

North Church Street, Sheffield (the North Church Street Synagogue), from 1872 to 1930.
(Foundation Stone laid 4 January 1872 by Rev. A. A. Green. Synagogue consecrated 10 September 1872 by Chief Rabbi, Dr. N. M. Adler.)

Synagogue Chambers, Figtree Lane, Sheffield. (the Figtree Lane Synagogue) from 1848 to 1872
Premises rented from Town Trust in 1847 and converted into a synagogue (the building was previously a private school  - the "Cowley's Academy").
The premises were purchased in 1851 for 350 (sale authorised by Town Trust on 11 November 1850, the agreement for sale was dated 21 July 1851, the conveyance was dated sometime prior to 21 November 1851, when the Law Clerk reported completion of the sale to the Trust.)
In 1859, the synagogue was closed for three months and then re-consecrated.

Holly Street (formerly Blind Lane), Sheffield (the Holly Street Synagogue), to 1848

Merger and Successor Congregation:

On 1 April 1953, the Congregation merged with Sheffield Central Hebrew Congregation to form the United Sheffield Hebrew Congregation, subsequently known as the Sheffield Jewish Congregation and Centre and now the United Synagogue - Sheffield).

(The agreement to merge was ratified by Sheffield Hebrew Congregation on 10 March 1953 and by Sheffield Central Hebrew Congregation on 3 March 1953.)

Date Formed:

Formed at Holly Street in 1831 (according to Armin Krausz: Sheffield Jewry - Commentary on a Community) or 1838 (Jewish Chronicle 15 April 1842)8


Ashkenazi Orthodox


The congregation was a provincial synagogue under the aegis of the Chief Rabbi.

Congregation Numbers:

1856 -  33 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1860 -  21 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1870 -  31 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1880 -  45 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1890 -  40 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1894 -  82 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1895 -  80 seatholders (The Jewish Year Books 1895/6)

1900 -  48 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)


The Congregation used the Bowden Street Jewish Cemetery and, later, the Ecclesfield Jewish Cemetery. See Cemetery Information on Sheffield Jewish Community home page.


Search the All-UK Database

The records in the database specifically associated, or possibly associated, with this congregation include:

Marriages, 1842-1952

Great Synagogue (9 records);
North Church Street Synagogue (93 records);
Miscellaneous and unspecified congregations (152 records)

For a list of other Sheffield records in the Database that may also include records associated with this congregation, click here.


On-line Articles and Other Material
associated with this Congregation


Sheffield Jewish Community home page

Jewish Congregations in South Yorkshire

Jewish Communities of England home page


Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2021 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved