tumblr site counter
  UKR-SIG Search
To visualize the dropdown menu you have to activate Javascript. Goto the SITE MAP

Old Website Town Pages

Important Note

The information on this page has been compiled by Ukraine SIG long time ago.
As JewishGen and the Ukraine SIG evolved, the contents of the page became redundant with other areas of
JewishGen (specially the KehilaLinks) and the new SIG website.

This page will be temporarily hosted by the Ukraine SIG site until this contents is transferred to the corresponding
KehilaLink and/or indexed into the Ukraine Database. Then it will be removed.

Taurida gubernia


map of Taurida Gubernia
Taurida Gubernia - Southernmost Ukraine

Taurida gubernia was established in 1802. It was dissolved during the Russian Revolution in 1917-1918, when oblasts replaced the gubernias. Its territory was divided between the Ukraine in the North,and the Crimea in the South.

It's now divided into eight districts (uyezds): Aleshki or Dniepr, Berdyansk, Melitopol, Eupatoria, Perekop, Simferopol, Theodosia and Yalta, as well as the two cities of Kerch and Sevastopol.

Berdyansk   Dnepr/Aleshki (Tsyurupinsk
Feodosiya   Melitopol
Perekop   Simferopol
Yalta   Yevpatoriya


Records Available

There are records from Taurida at the Family History Library. More info is here.


Other Links

For more information about Taurida, visit the World History at KLMA:

  • Last Modified: 02-20-2012
  • Site Map
  • Site Index
  • Contact Us
  • Donate
  • JewishGen Home
  • We need your help !!!
    Please complete Ukraine SIG's Surveys
    Visit Ukraine SIG on Facebook Share this page by email
    Copyright © 2012-2020, Ukraine SIG. All rights reserved.