Birmingham Central Synagogue

Birmingham, West Midlands




Page created: 6 November 2005
latest revision or update: 29 June 2017

Birmingham Central Synagogue, May 2013,
prior to its sale and the congregation's move to the adjacent
synagogue hall in the summer of 2013.
David Shulman 2013

Congregation Data

Official Name:

Birmingham Central Synagogue (also known as the Beth Hamedrash)


4 Speedwell Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham B5 7PR (from Summer 2013)
This building had originally been the congregation's community and functions hall on an adjacent plot to the then synagogue in Pershoe Road. When the synagogue was sold in 2013, the hall building was extensively redeveloping and refurbishing as a synagogue and community centre and was consecrated by Chief Rabbi Ephraim Mirvis on 13 October 2013. 

Previous Addresses:

From 1961 until the Summer 2013 - 133 Pershore Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham B5 7PA (This was a 700-seater purpose-built synagogue. Following its sale, the building was demolished and replaced by a home for the elderly.)

From 1928 to 1961 - at 129 Bristol Street, Birmingham (a red brick building that had previously been a Methodist hall).

From 1901 to 1928 - at Wrottesley Street, Birmingham.

From 1883 to 1900 - in a private house in Belgrave Street, Birmingham.

Current Status:


Date Formed:

About 1883.


Ashkenazi Orthodox




On 16 December 2016, the Congregation became a full constituent member of  the United Synagogue, having previously been unaffiliated. It was only the second Provincial syngogue to join the organisation.


Rabbi Shlomo Odze - until early 2012

Rabbi Chanan Atlas - from February 2012 to April 2014

Rabbi Dr. Lior Kaminetsky  - August 2015 to present (December 2015)

Membership Data:

1999 - 350  (Board of Deputies)

Cemetery Information:

See Birmingham Jewish Cemeteries Information on Birmingham Jewish Community home page for burial prior to joining the United Synagogue in 2017. Subsequently, members became eligible for burial in the United Synagogue cemeteries, in particular, Bushey Jewish Cemetery.


Other Congregational Records

Marriage Records:

Marriage Records from 1947 held by the Synagogue

Birmingham & District Jewish Community home page

List of United Synagogue Congregations

Jewish Congregations in West Midlands

Jewish Communities of England home page


Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2021 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved