Norwich Hebrew Congregation

Norwich, Norfolk




Page created: 2 March 2004
Latest update or revision: 7 May 2017

Congregation Data


Norwich Hebrew Congregation


3 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3RA (opened 1948)

Previous Addresses:

Synagogue Street, St. Faiths Lane, Mountergate, Norwich - a beautiful synagogue, which was built in 1848 and destroyed in German air raid in 1942. (Subsequently services were held temporarily at Chapel Field North - Theatre Street).

Prior to 1848, there was a synagogue at Tombland (opposite the Cathedral) from the early 1800s and previously a large room was used in a house in Ber Street.

Current Status:



Founded 1813 and re-established 1842


Ashkenazi Orthodox


A provincial synagogue under the aegis of the Chief Rabbi.

Marriage Certification:

Group for Certification: Board of Deputies
Appears in 1998 General Registrar Official List
Registration District: Norwich

Membership Data:

1845 -  7 ba'alai batim and 3 seatholders  (Chief Rabbi's Questionnaire)

1852 -  30 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1860 -  30 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1870 -  15 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1880 -  10 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1890 -  21 seatholders (Board of Deputies Returns)

1895 -  10 seatholders (The Jewish Year Book 1896)

1900 -  14 seatholders (The Jewish Year Book 1900-01 and Board of Deputies Returns)

1999 -  65 (Board of Deputies Returns)

2006 -  85 (Congregation's website)



Cemetery Information

For details of the cemeteries used by the congregation, see Norwish Cemetery Information)


On-line Articles and Other Material
associated with this Congregation


Norwich Jewish Community home page
(which includes additional information and other articles relating to this congregations)

List of Synagogues destroyed by German air raids during World War II

Jewish Congregations in Norfolk

Jewish Communities of England home page


Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2021 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved