Radlett United Synagogue

Radlett, Hertsmere, Hertfordshire




JCR-UK is a genealogical and historical website covering all Jewish communities and
congregations throughout the British Isles and Gibraltar, both past and present.
NOTE: We are not the official website of the congregation named above, which can be reached by clicking on the congregation's logo below.

Town of Radlett

The town of Radlett is in the county of Hertfordshire, just to the north of the administrative boundary of Greater London. It is in the borough of Hertsmere, a local government district formed in 1974 and granted borough status in 1977

Radlett Jewish Community

Although Radlett already had a number of Jewish families by at least the 1960s, it was some time before organised Jewish congregations emerged. However, in the 1980s, one saw the beginnings of an orthodox congregation (see below) and the relocation to Radlett of a reform congregation (see Radlett Reform Synagogue).

Radlett United Synagogue logo
Congregation Data


Radlett United Synagogue(ii)

Former Name:

Radlett Synagogue


22 Watling Street, Radlett, Herts WD7 7PN
Previously Radlett Village Hall

Current Status:


When Founded:

In the early 1980s, an Orthodox Jewish group was formed by several families in Radlett, as an offshoot of Borehamwood & Elstree Synagogue, holding services initially in peoples' homes and later in a hired hall. In 1995, the congregation was formally established when it acquired its own building and severed ties with Borehamwood & Elstree Synagogue, becoming an independent community


Orthodox - Ashkenazi


A constituent synagogue of the United Synagogue since its formation as an independent congregation.



Rabbinical Teams:
(To view a short profile of a minister - hold the cursor over his name.)

Rabbi Yitzak Sliw - 1995 to 1997(v)

Rabbi Gideon Sylvester - 1997 to November 2004(vi)

Rev. Elkan David Levy (acting minister) - 2005(vii)

Rabbi Ariel Abel (and Rebbetzen Shalamit Abel) - August 2005 to August 2010(viii)

Rev. Elkan David Levy (acting minister) - 2010 to April 2011(vii)

Rabbi Saul Zneimer (temp. part time) - 2010 to May 2011(ix)

Rabbi Leo Dee (and Rebbetzen Lucy Dee) - 2011 to July 2014(x)

Rabbi Jonathan Hughes (and Rebbetzen Chana Hughes) - from December 2015 to May 2023(xi)

Membership Data:

National Reports & Surveys(xii)

1996 - 219 members (comprising 207 households, 5 individual male and 7 individual female members)

2010 - listed as having 500 to 749 members (by household)

2016 - listed as having 750 to 999 members (by household)

Charitable Status:

As a constituent of the United Synagogue, the congregation operates within that organisation's registered charity status (registered charity no. 242552).

Registration District:

Hertfordshire(xiii) - Register Office website.

Cemetery Information:

For cemeteries used by the congregation, see Cemeteries of the United Synagogue, of which Bushey Cemetery is only about 4 miles away

Notes & Sources ( returns to text above)

  • (i) Unless otherwise indicated all congregational data is based upon information appearing on the congregation's website, accessed 29 June 2017, which included a brief history of the congregation.

  • (ii) For some years the congregation used either name before settling on the current name.

  • (iii) & (iv) Reserved.

  • (v) Rabbi Sliw was the first minister of the congregation and was listed in the Jewish Year Book 1997, which was the first edition in which the congregation was listed.

  • ((vi) History on the congregation's website.

  • (vii) Based on congregation's website and Rev. Levy's "Who's Who" entries in Jewish Year Books.

  • (viii) Based upon congregation's website.

  • (ix) Based upon congregation's website and Jewish Chronicle report of 2 September 2010.

  • (x) Based upon congregation's website and Jewish Chronicle report of 21 January 2011.

  • (xi) Based upon congregation's website, Rabbi Hughes's profile formerly on United Synagogue website and Jewish Chronicle report of March 2023.

  • (xii) Reports on synagogue membership in the United Kingdom, published by or on behalf of the Board of Deputies of British Jews and which can be viewed on the website of the Institute of Jewish Policy Research. Click HERE for links to the various reports.

  • (xiii) The former Registration District was Watford, from the formation of Congregation until 1 April 2008. All registers would now be held by current register office.

Hertsmere Jewish Communities home page

List of United Synagogue Congregations

Jewish Congregations in Hertfordshire

Jewish Congregations in Greater London and its Outskirts

Jewish Communities of England home page

Page created: 19 May 2006
Data significantly expanded: 29 January 2017; Notes first added: 26 November 2018
Latest revision or update: 4 July 2023

Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2024 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved