Borough Synagogue

Walworth, London S.E.17.




Page created: 28 August 2006
Latest revision or update: 18 February 2015

Congregation Data


Borough Synagogue

Former Name:

Borough New Synagogue (from 1823 to about 1927)


Communal Hall, Wansey Street, Walworth, London S.E.17 (from end of 1940's)

Wansey Street (the Surrey Taberacle), Walworth, London S.E.17 (from 1927)

Heygate Street (Vowler Street), Walworth Road, London S.E.17 (1867 to 1927)

Prior to then, there had, at times, been two rival congregations:
(1) at Prospect Place, St George's Road, Southwark  (1823 to 1867); and
(2) a synagogue built in the yard of the house of Mr. Nathan Henry at 2 Market Street, Newington Causeway, from about 1800 to 1853, from which the Prospect Place congregation seceded.

Date Formed:

Congregation formed in early nineteenth century

Current Status:

Closed, amalgamated with Brixton Synagogue in 1961


Ashkenazi Orthodox


A constituent synagogue of the United Synagogue from 1873 until its closure. It was the first additional synagogue to be admitted to the United Synagogue, following the the formation of the United Synagogue by its original five initial members.

Membership Data:

Number of male seat-holders: (source)





















Local Government Districts:

Part of  Southwark is generally referred to as "The Borough", taking its name from the ancient Borough of Southwark, situated in central London on the southern bank of the river Thames. The synagogue was actually situated in Walworth, an area just to the south the Borough.  These localities are now in  London Borough of Southwark, an Inner London Borough created on 1 April 1965, within the administrative area of Greater London.

Previously, the localities were in the somewhat smaller former Metropolitan Borough of Southwark (established in 1900) within the former County of London (established in 1889), both of which entities were abolished in 1965. Prior to 1889, Southwark was divided into various civil parishes within the County of Surrey.

Registration Districts:

From 1 July 1837 - St. Saviour Southwark
Since 1 April 1901 - Southwark (which would now hold any registers)


Search the All-UK Database

The records in the database specifically associated with the Borough Synagogue include:

Seatholders Lists

1885 (173 records);
1899 (419 records).
1933 (427 records).

For a list of other London records in the Database that may also include records associated with this congregation, click here.

Other Congregation Information


Jewish Congregations in the London Borough of Southwark

Jewish Congregations in Greater London

Greater London home page

List of United Synagogue Congregations

Explanation of Terms Used



About JCR-UK   |   JCR-UK home page  |   Contact JCR-UK Webmaster

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2017 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved