Llandudno Jewish Community and

Llandudno & Colwyn Bay Hebrew Congregation

Llandudno, Conwy, North Wales




Page created: 22 August 2005
Latest revision or update: 2 May 2016

Town of Llandudno

Llandudno is a seaside resort, with a population of about 21,000, on the coast of North Wales, about 55 miles west of Liverpool and 5 miles north-west of Colwyn Bay.

Until 1974, it formed the urban district of Llandudno in the county of Caernarvonshire. From 1974 until 1996, it was part of the district of Aberconwy in the then newly-formed county of Gwynedd. In 1996, Aberconwy was transferred from the county of Gwynedd and merged into the new county borough of Conwy, a unitary authority (in the ceremonial, or preserved, county of Clwyd).

Llandudno Synagogue, sketch by Olwen Hughes
A sketch of Llandudno & Colwyn Bay Synagogue, by Olwen Hughes 1986
kindly provided by Bernard Croop

 Llandudno Jewish Community

There were Jewish residents in Llandudno from late nineteen century. The synagogue was established in 1905 and, as the Jewish communities gradually dwindled throughout the area, the town's synagogue became the sole remaining synagogue in North Wales. There were no Jewish cemeteries in North Wales until 2010, when a Liberal Jewish cemetery was established in Llandudno (see below).

Congregation Data


Llandudno and Colwyn Bay Hebrew Congregation

Former Name:

Llandudno Hebrew Congregation

(until following the merger with Colwyn Bay Hebrew Congregation in 1970s)


28 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HL (from 1948)

Former Address:

Masonic Hall, Mostyn Street, Llandudno

Current Status:

Active. The synagogue doubles as a Chabad-Lubavitch Retreat Centre (without which it would be difficult to maintain a minyan).

Date Founded:



Ashkenazi Orthodox. Services are primarily conducted by visiting Lubavitch.


On-line Articles and Other Material relating
to the Llandudno Jewish Community



Llandudno Synagogue (interior) by Olwen Hughes
A sketch of Llandudno & Colwyn Bay Synagogue, by Olwen Hughes 1986
kindly provided by Bernard Croop

Llandudno Jewish Cemetery Informationn

There were no Jewish cemeteries in North Wales, the closest such cemeteries being in Liverpool and Manchester, until the establishment of the follow cemetery:

  • Llanrhos Lawn Cemetery, Jewish Sectionn, Conway Road, Llanrhos, Llandudno, LL30 1RN.  This was established in 2010 at the Conway Borough municipal cemetery in Llanrhos to be run along Liberal Judaism lines. (Llanrhos is a village just to the east and south of Llandudno.) It is the only Jewish cemetery in North Wales.

(For additional information, see also IAJGS International Jewish Cemeteries Project - Llandudno)


Llandudno Jewish Population Data



(The Jewish Year Book 1981)



(The Jewish Year Book 1991)



(The Jewish Year Book 2004)


Jewish Communities (Past & Present) in the county borough of Conwy

Jewish Congregations in the former county of Caenarvonshire

Jewish Congregations in Wales, listed according to current unitary authorities

Jewish Communities & Congregations in Wales home page



Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Community or Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2019 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved