11. Map 1809 - Grand Duchy of Warsaw

Previous slide

Index page

Next slide
Map Key:
Red Lines = Modern borders
Pink = Duchy of Warsaw
Green = Russia
Blue = Prussia
Gold = Austria
Tan = Ottoman

Two years later, in 1809, Napolean defeats the Austrians, and takes the Austrian territory from the 3rd partition, expanding the Duchy of Warsaw, creating the départments of Kraków, Sandomierz, and Lublin.

Napoleon’s "Duchy of Warsaw" lasts only 6 years (1807-13), but it left behind a legacy of progressive social and economic reforms, including the beginning of civil registration.