the former

Walworth Road Synagogue

Dublin, Ireland




Page created: 13 June 2006
Latest revision or update: 4 June 2016

3/4 Walworth Road in September 2014.
The building now houses The Irish Jewish Museum
  David Shulman 2014

Congregation Data


Walworth Road Synagogue

Former Name:

Beth Hamedresh Hagadol Synagogue until about 1955


3/4 Walworth Road, Dublin 8, in the midst of Portobello area, around the South Circular Road, in which the majority of Dublin's Jews had once been concentrated. The Synagogue could accommodate 150/160 congregants. Since 1984 the building has housed the Irish Jewish Museum.

Date Founded:

Early 1930's

Current Status:

Following the move of most of the Jewish population from the area to Dublin's suburbs, the Synagogue fell into disuse and ceased to function in the mid-1970's


Ashkenazi Orthodox

Membership Data:

1954 -  120 seatholders (Jewish Year Book 1955)
1962 -    70 seatholders (Jewish Year Book 1963)


See Dublin Jewish Cemeteries Information on the Dublin home page.

The Irish Jewish Museum:

The Irish Jewish Museum was the brainchild of Rafael Sief, the served as its curator until his death in 2009. Mr. Sief proposed, in the early 1980's, to turn the Walworth Road Synagogue, which had laid in a state of disrepair for some years, unto the Irish Jewish Museum. On 29 June 1985, the then President of the State of Israel, Irish-born Chaim Herzog, officially opened the Museum during his State Visit to the Republic of Ireland. The Museum is situated in the two terraced houses that housed the Walworth Road Synagogue, the Synagogue itself (which has been restored to its original) was situated on the first floor of the building. In order to meet the needs of the Museum, an expansion project has been approved to redevelop the site (including the three adjacent terraced houses to the right, which had been bequeathed to the Museum by Raphael Sief), which would substantially increase the size of the Museum, but generally retain the facade of the terraced houses on Walworth Road.

Website: http://jewishmuseum.ie

David Shulman 2014
Two plaques on the front of the building. The upper plaques reads in Hebrew: "Beth Hamedresh Hagadol".
The lower plaques commemorates the opening of the Irish Jewish Museum by then President of Israel, Chaim Herzog



David Shulman 2014
David Shulman 2014
Two photographs of the interior of the Walworth Road Synagogue, as preserved
on the first floor of the Irish Jewish Museum, taken in September 2014

Dublin Jewish Community home page

JCR-UK Ireland home page


Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2022 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved