Liverpool Reform Synagogue

Wavertree, Liverpool, Mersyside




Page created: 22 August 2005
Latest revision or update: 4 July 2017

Congregation Data


Liverpool Reform Synagogue

Former Names:

Previously known as;
Liverpool Progressive Synagogue until about 2005;
Liverpool Liberal Jewish Congregation until about 1947;
Hope Place Synagogue until about 1961; and as
Liverpool Liberal Synagogue until about 1977 


28 Church Road North, Wavertree, Liverpool L15 6TF

Former Address:

Until 1962, Hope Place, Liverpool (now the Unity Theatre).   Initially services were held in the Royal Institute.

Current Status:


Date Founded:



Reform (formerly Liberal / Progressive)


A constituent synagogue of the Movement for Reform Judaism (formerly known as Reform Synagogues of Great Britain) from about 2005.
(Until about 2005, it was a constituent synagogue of the Liberal Judaism - formerly known as Union of Liberal and Progressive Synagogues.)

Official website:



Rabbi Norman Zalud(i) (part-time) - From about 1986 until 2007

Marriage Certification:

Group for Certification:  West London Synagogue (formerly the Liberal Jewish Synagogue)
Appears in 1998 General Registrar Official List
Worship Number: 70435
Registration District: Liverpool

Membership Data:

1999 - 167  (Board of Deputies)

Cemetery Information:

See Liverpool Jewish Cemeteries Information on Liverpool Jewish Community home page

Notes & Sources ( returns to text above)


Congregational Records

At Liverpool Records Office:

  • 1927-1990: minutes, correspondence, membership records, financial records and miscellaneous of Liverpool Progressive Synagogue. (ref: 296 PRO; NRA catalogue reference: NRA 30754)

Liverpool Jewish Community home page

Other Jewish Congregations in Merseyside

List of Reform Judaism Congregations

List of Liberal Judaism Congregations

Jewish Communities of England home page


Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2019 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved