JewishGen Home Page


ViewMate Posting VM 26843

Submitted by Jessica Zering

Bookmark and Share Share This Image

Information Picture Question
Category: Translation - German
Approval Date: 4/7/2013 3:24 PM
Family Surname: Ziering
Country: Poland
Town: Krakow
Date of Image: 1940
Click the picture to enlarge

This is a piece of a supplemental application from the Krakow Ghetto. I would appreciate a translation of this document! Thank you so much!

You must be registered and logged in to respond to images.
Read the FAQs here to learn how to send thanks to a translator.

On  Response 
4/10/2013 2:09 PM remark 1: I would think the nephew Emil Rosenstrauch grew up in the house of Leiser Karp _ Ziering
(the word "Zögling" implies that, but leaves some room for interpretation)

remark 2: Before the name "Ziering" there is a little abbreviation I can not solve

remark 3: This one belongs to the other document and refers to Leiser Karp Ziering:

Other people who live in the same household older than 14:

-Lea Karp _ Ziering born on 21 Februrary 1878 at Drohobycz, wife (of Leiser], married
-Emil Rosenstrauch born on 2. February 1918 at Stanislawow, nephew and “Zögling”[ = under the care of Leiser] unmarried

Because of my illness I am not able to work, for I am predominantely bedridden, even all 8 to 10 days need special medical help for the change of the catheter (catheter for the kidneys because of a fistula at the kidney)
Out of this reason I'm kept in the full of my nephew (and "Zögling")Emil Rosenstrauch, not having any own capital after two years after that undergone operation.
Emil Rosenstrauch worked from 1/August/1938 till 15/October/1940 as office worker and earned that much that it could pay for our conjoint household. In the middle of October 1940 this job was reduced. On 1.November 1940 he started another job with a small entry-level salary which will rise step by step later. I live/lived at Krakau for 26 years; out of Cracow I do not have family were I could find accomodation, especially because I need specialised medical help, what is not to be found at the countryside.
I remark that I must not be transported and am fully dependant of my family members.

Infolge meiner Krankheit bin Arbeitsunfähig, da ich vorwiegend bettlägrig bin, sogar jede 8-10 Tage Spezial-ärtzliche Hilfe zwecks Katteterwechslung (Nierenkatteter bei Nierenfistel)
Aus diesem Grund werde ich mangels an eigenen Mitteln seit zwei Jahren nach durchgemachter Operation von meinem Neffen-zögling Emil Rosenstrauch ganz ausgehalten.
Derselbe war seit 1/8/1938 bis 15/10/1940 auf einem Posten als Bürokraft, verdiente dementsprechend, dass unsern gemeinschaftl.[ichen] Haushalt decken konnte. In der Hälfte Oktober 1940 wurde von dieser Anstellung reduziert. Am 1.11.1940 hatte er einen anderen Posten aufgenommen mit einem kleinen Anfangsgehalt welches nachher sukzessive erhöht wird. Ich wohne in Krakau 26 Jahre, ausser Krakau, habe keine Verwandte bei denen ich Unterkunftmöglichkeiten finden könnte, insbesondere muß ich stets Spezialistische Ärztliche
Behandlung haben, welche auf der Provinz unmöglich ist.
Bemerke daß ich transportunfähig bin und auf meine Familienmitglieder gänzlich angewiesen bin.
Bookmark and Share Share This Image

You must be registered and logged in to respond to images.
Read the FAQs here to learn how to send thanks to a translator.

Have a ViewMate success story? Please share it using the Help page form.
All times shown on ViewMate are in US Mountain Time
Last Updated 20 Nov 2016
ViewMate idea and author: Bernard Israelite Kouchel ז״ל
Web Author: Josef Herz, updated by John Berman, Gary Sandler
Edmond J. Safra Plaza | 36 Battery Place | New York, NY 10280
646.494.5972 | | © 2017, JewishGen. All rights reserved.