West London Synagogue of British Jews

Upper Berkeley Street, London W1





Officers of the Synagogue 1896 to mid-1950s

(for the the Congregation's Wardens, see Wardens of the Synagogue)

Based on data extracted from Jewish Year Books(1)

Chairman of the Council

Joint Treasurers


1896-1904 - F. D. Mocatta

1896-1901 - B. Elkin Mocatta & Alfred Waley

1896-1898 - Alfred Henry

1904-1911 - Sir Philip Magnus

1901-1912 - B. Elkin Mocatta & H.S.Q. Henriques

1898-1915 - Selim Solomon

1911-1914 - Benjamon E. Mocatta

1912-1918 - H.S.Q. Henriques & Ernest D. Löwy

1915-1919 - Michael Levy

1914-1919 - Herbert G. Lousada

1918-1925 - Ernest D. Löwy & Philip S. Waley

1919-1920 - Sidney B. Schieffer

1919-1925 - H.S.Q. Henriques, KC

1925-1932 - Ernest D. Löwy & Albert I Belisha

1920-1929 - M. Alex Myer

1925-1937 - Philip S. Waley

1932-1935 - Albert I Belisha & Leonard G. Montefiore, OBE

1930-1939 - B.M. Woolf, MC(2)

1937-1939 - Julian G. Lousada(3)

1935-1938 - Leonard G. Montefiore, OBE & Major J. Brunel Cohen

1940-1946 - no data

1939-1946 - no data

1938-1939 - Major J. Brunel Cohen & H.C. Marks

1946-1955 - R. Galan

1946-1957 - Owen E. Mocatta(3)

1939-1940 - H.C. Marks & Owen E. Mocatta



1940-1945 - no data



1945-1946 - Owen E. Mocatta & Leonard G. Montefiore, OBE



1946-1947 - Leonard G. Montefiore, OBE & E.F.Q. Henriques, OBE



1947-1951 - E.F.Q. Henriques & Major R.J. Pinto, MC



1951-1955 - Leonard G. Montefiore, OBE & Major R.J. Pinto, MC



1955-1956 - E.F.Q. Henriques, OBE & Major R.J. Pinto, MC



Notes ( returns to text above)

  1. Jewish Year Books were published annually from 1896/7 through 2015, except from the war years 1941 to 1945. Where an officer is first listed in a year book in a particular office, it has been assumed that his term office commenced in the year of publication of the relevent year book, which was generally towards the end of the year prior to year appearing the the title of the year book and that he continued in office until the commencement of office of his successor, unless the office was stated as vacant (e.g. if he is first listed in Jewish Year Books 1925 through 1930, it is assumed that he commenced office in 1924 and continued in office until 1930). However, it should be noted that this is only an assumption and accordingly his actual years of office may differ slightly from those shown here.

  2. The office of secretary was shown as vacant in the Jewish Year Books 1938, and according there may have been a break in B.M. Woolf's term of office.

  3. Also listed in the Jewish Year Books as president of the congregation.

Back to Congregation home page

Page created: 16 January 2019
Latest update or revision:12 August 2019



Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2021 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved