West London Synagogue of British Jews

Upper Berkeley Street, London W1





Ministers of the Congregation

Kindly provided by the West London Synagogue and produced with its permission.
Photographs WLS

To view a short profile of any one of the undermentioned ministers,
hold the cursor over the name of the relevant minister.
(To view the full list of all such profiles, listed alphabetically together with profiles of other
non-orthodox ministers who served more than one UK congregation, click on the name of any minister.)

The Rev. Professor David Woolf Marks
Senior Minister 1840-1893


The Rev. Albert Lwy
Second Minister 1842-1892


The Rev. Philip Magnus
Assistant Minister 1866-1880


The Rev. Isidore Harris
Assistant Minister 1881-1925

The Rev. Morris Joseph
Senior Minister 1893-1930

The Rev. Vivian Simmons
Assistant Minister 1913-1942

Rabbi Dr. Joel Blau
Assistant Minister 1924-1927

Rabbi Harold F. Reinhart
Senior Minister 1929-1957

Rabbi Bruno Italiener
Assistant Minister 1941-1949

Rabbi Curtis Cassell
Second Minister 1948-1957

Rabbi Andre Ungar
Assistant Minister 1952-1955

Rabbi Louis J. Cashdan

Assisted 1939-1942

Rabbi Hermann Schreiber
Assisted 1941

Rabbi Arthur Katz
Assisted 1942-1947

Rabbi Michael Curtis
Assisted 1948-1971

Rabbi Alan Miller
Assisted 1955-1959

Rabbi Stanley Dreyfus
Assisted 1949

Rabbi John Levi
Assisted 1957-1958

Rabbi Bernard Heller
Assisted 1957

Rabbi Harold Saperstein
Assisted 1957: 1980/81: 1982/83


Rabbi Werner Van Der Zyl
Senior Minister 1958-1968

Rabbi Michael Leigh
Assistant Minister 1958-1963

Rabbi Hugo Gryn
Assistant Minister 1964-1968

Rabbi Wolfe Kelman

Assisted 1957-1958

Rabbi Shamai Kanter
Assisted 1958

Rabbi Ignaz Maybaum
Assisted 1958

Rabbi Charles Berg
Assisted 1958

Rabbi E.S. Rosenblum
Assisted 1958

Rabbi Marim D. Charry
Assisted 1960-1962

Rabbi Hugo Gryn
Senior Minister 1968-1996  Died in Office


Rabbi Michael Goulston
Assistant Minister 1968-1972
Died in Office

Rabbi Thomas Salamon
Assistant Minister 1972-1975

Rabbi Mrs Jacqueline Tabick
Associate Minister 1975-1999

Rabbi A. Daniel Smith
Associate Minister 1977-1982

Rabbi William Wolff
Associate Minister 1984-1986

Rabbi Robert Shafritz
Associate Minister 1987-1993

Rabbi Sonny Herman
Assisted 1969

Rabbi Dan Cohn-Sherbok
Assisted 1972-1974

Rabbi Henry Goldstein
Assisted 1973

Rabbi Lionel Blue
Assisted 1974-1977

Rabbi Reuven Silverman
Assisted 1974

Rabbi Colin Eimer
Assisted 1975-1976


Rabbi Allen Podet
Assisted 1976/77: 1986/87


Rabbi Levi Weiman-Kelman
Assisted 1981-1982


Rabbi Larry Tabick
Rabbi Larry Tabick
Assisted 1990

Rabbi Mark Winer
Senior Rabbi 1998-2010



Rabbi Helen Freeman
Rabbi 1999-2010
Principal Rabbi 2010-2020
later Co-Senior Rabbi




Rabbi Sybil Sheridan
Rabbi 2014-2020





Rabbi Emily Reitsma-Jurman
Rabbi Emily Reitsma-Jurman
Associate Rabbi 1 Jan 2021






Rabbi David Mitchell
Rabbi 2011-2020
later Co-Senior Rabbi


Rabbi Neil Janes
Rabbi 2015-2020








Rabbi Michael Farbman
Assistant Rabbi 2001-2004

Rabbi Roderick Young
Assistant Rabbi 2004-2006

Rabbi Josh Levy
Assistant Rabbi (Education)2004-2008

Rabbi Malcolm Cohen
Assistant Rabbi 2006-2009

Rabbi Danny Burkeman
Assistant Rabbi 2009-2011

Rabbi Debbie Young-Somers
Rabbi 2009-2013

Rabbi Benji Stanley
Assistant Rabbi 2013-2014

Rabbi Gershon Silis
Assistant Rabbi January 2021

Rabbi Julia Neuberger DBE
(Baroness Neuberger)

Senior Rabbi 2011-2020
Rabbi Emerita 2020-


Rabbi Helen Freeman
Co-Senior Rabbi 1 Apr 2020 -

Rabbi David Mitchell
Co-Senior Rabbi 1 Apr 2020 -



Back to Congregation home page

Created and initially formatted for JCR-UK by Louise Messik: 10 October 2003
Links to profiles added: 31 January 2019
Page most recently amended: 4 May 2021



Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2024 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved