the former

Waltham Forest Hebrew Congregation

Walthamstow, London E17




Page created: 19 November 2006
Latest revision or update: 29 May 2017

The former synagogue, 2023 (now a mosque)
Note the menorah design still on the gate

Congregation Data

Last Name:

Waltham Forest Hebrew Congregation

Former Names:

Walthamstow and Leyton Synagogue

Walthamstow and Leyton Associate Synagogue


140 Boundary Road, Walthamstow, London E17 8LA.

Walthamstow is in north/northeast London, immediately to the north of Leyton and to the east of Tottenham.

(Location: Boundary Road runs approximately half a mile west from Hoe Road (A112) to Markhouse Road (A1006) in southern Walthamstow. It is some quarter of a mile north of the Lea Bridge Road (A104) and south of Queen's Road. The synagogue is on the north side of the Boundary Road, on the corner with Boston Road, a short cul-de-sac. Boundary Road may have formed the boundary between Walthamstow and Leyton.)

Date Formed:

Founded by Rev. Dr. Gollancz in September 1902

Current Status:

Closed - merged in November 2014 with Wanstead & Woodford United Synagogue to form Woodford Forest United Synagogue.

Incorporated Congregation:

Queens Road Synagogue in about the late 1960's


Ashkenazi Orthodox


Initially Independent.  Became affiliated to the Federation of Synagogues from at least 1915, until about 1920. From 1920, was an associate synagogue of the the United Synagogue, withdrawing in 1949 on the termination of the associate synagogue scheme.

It remained technically independent, although primarily as a result of its incorporation of the Queens Road Synagogue (which was affiliated to the Federation of Synagogues) a number of members belong to the Federation burial funds. The congregation subsequently had an affiliation to the Federation of Synagogues until its merger in 2014 into a United Synagogue congregation.


Rev. Stewart Myers - last minister of Congregation, until merger of 2014

Membership Data:

1905 -   54 seatholders (source)

1915 -   58 seatholders (source)

1920 - 150 male seatholders (source)

Local Government Districts:

Walthamstow is in the London Borough of Waltham Forest, created on 1 April 1965, within the administrative area of Greater London.

Previously, the locality was in the former Municipal Borough of Walthamstow (from 1929 to 1965) and, prior thereto, the Urban District of Walthamstow (from 1894 to 1929), both of which entities were in the County of Essex.

Registration Districts:

From 1 July 1837 - West Ham
From 1 October 1935 - Essex South Western
Since 1 April 1965 - Waltham Forest

Other Congregation Information


Jewish Congregations in the London Borough of Waltham Forest

Jewish Congregations in Greater London (other than City & East End)

Greater London home page

List of Federation of Synagogues Congregations

List of United Synagogue Congregations



Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2024 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved