South London Synagogue

(formerly Streatham Synagogue)

Streatham, London SW16




Page created: 24 October 2006
Latest revision or update: 5 April 2017

South London Synagogue
Entrance to Synagogue
Photgraphe kindly provided by ©South London Synagogue

Congregation Data

Current Name:

South London Synagogue

Former Name:

Streatham Synagogue (until 1986)

Streatham District Synagogue

Streatham & District Synagogue

Current Address:

45 Leigham Court Road, Streatham, London SW16 2NF (from 1986)

Previous Addresses:

Previously at Estreham Road, Streatham, London SW16 (now a mosque) (1957-1986)

Prior to then, 15a Mitcham Lane, Streatham, London SW16 (now a church) (1947-1957)

Current Status:


Date Formed:


Incorporated Congregations:

Brixton Synagogue in about 1982 (which itself had incorporated the Borough Synagogue)


Ashkenazi Orthodox


A affiliated synagogue of the United Synagogue from 1946, becoming a district synagogue in 1958 and subsequently a constituent synagogue.




List incomplete and, in certain cases, approximate.(i)

Rev. Stewart Myers - from 1 April 2017

Rabbi Yaakov Grunewald - from about 2011 to March 2017

Rabbi M. Lester - from about 2007 to about 2010

Rabbi Philip Ginsbury(ii) - from 1982 to 2007

Rev. (later Rabbi) Israel Geoffrey Hyman (part time) - from 1980 to 1982

Rabbi Dr. A. Ehrman - during 1970s

Rev. M. H. Kibel - 1966 to early 1970s

Rabbi Philip Ginsbury - from 1959 to 1966

Rev. G. Schneider - during 1950s

Rev. M. Nemeth - from late 1940s to early 1950s

Membership Data:

Number of male seat-holders(iii):









Local Government Districts:

Streatham, a district in southwest London, is now in the London Borough of Lambeth, an Inner London Borough created on 1 April 1965, within the administrative area of Greater London.

Previously, Streatham was in the former Metropolitan Borough of Wandsworth (established in 1900) within the former County of London (established in 1889), both of which entities were abolished in 1965.

Registration Districts:

From 1 July 1837 - Wandsworth
Since 1 April 1965 - Lambeth

Cemetery Information:

IAJGS Cemetery Project - Cemeteries of the United Synagogue.

Notes & Sources ( returns to text above)

  • (i) Where only approximate dates are given, the data is generally based upon first or last appearances in Jewish Year Books, such information not being totally reliable. Rab. Grunewald first appeared in the 2012 edition; Rab. Lester in the 2008 to 2011 editions; Rav. Ehrman in 1975/6 editions and possibly others; Rev. Kibbel in 1968-71 editions and possibly others; Rev Schneider in 1952 edition and possibly others; and Rev Nemeth in 1949-51 editions and possibly 1948.

  • (ii) Rabbi Ginsbury served as minister of the Congregation for two periods (1969-1966 and 1982-2007). From 1966 to 1982, he served as minister of Brixton Synagogueand and again become minister of Streatham Synagogue when the latter congregation incorporated the former congregation in 1982.

  • (iii) The United Synagogue 1870-1970 by Aubrey Newman (1977), pp. 218/219.


Bibliography and Other Material relating to the this congregtion



Jewish Congregations in the London Borough of Lambeth

Jewish Congregations in Greater London

Greater London home page

List of United Synagogue Congregations



Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2024 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved