Bristol Hebrew Congregation





Synagogue Ministers

 (Updated 5 June 2003)

Details of the Ministers of Bristol Hebrew Congregation, are given in the table below. This has been assembled from the pre-1900 information provided by Judith Samuel (Jews in Bristol, Redcliffe Press of Bristol, ISBN 1-900178-16-8) together with post-1900 data extracted from the Congregation's Minute Books.

Dates Ministers

1765-1785Isaac Collish or Zvi Hirsch Kalisch
1798-1803Moses Levy
1829-1830Solomon Levy
1829-1838Rev Abraham Barnett
1833-1835Prof D M Isaacs
1838-1851Aaron Levy Green
1844-1880Rev Joseph Benjamin
1851-1855Rev Jacob Lindiner
1855-1858Rev Samuel Landeshut
1859-1864Rev Isaac Samuel
1867-1878Rev Meyer Mendelsohn
1871-1878Rev Barnett (Berman) Berliner
1872-1879Rev Abraham Muller
1880-1884Rev David Fay
1880-1893Rev A H Eisenberg
1893-1896Rev A H Eisenberg at Bridge St
1893-1896Rev E Ritblatt at Bridge St
1885-1889Rev Joseph Leonard Levy, BA
1890-1892Rev Moses Hyamson
1894-1895Rev Lewis Mendelsohn, BA
1897-1902Rev A H Eisenberg
1897-1927Rev Emanuel Ritblatt
1894-1899Rev A Levinson
1899-1906Rev Joseph Abelson
1907-1916Rev Hyman Goodman
1907-1919Rev Bernard Paletz
1920-1924Rev Arthur Barnett
1925-1934Rabbi Harry Swift
1934-1944Rev Simon L Sussman
1935-1947Rev Louis Sanker
1944-1959Rev Freedman
1949-1955Rev H Lerner
1956-1957Rev Wolfson
1959-1961Rabbi Dr A Ehrman
1962-1987Rev Max Moddel
1990-1992Rabbi Mike Morris
1993-2002Rabbi Hillel Simon


Back to Congregation Home Page

If you have anything to add to this section please contact JCR-UK

About JCR-UK   |   JCR-UK home page  |   Contact JCR-UK Coordinator

JGSGB  JewishGen

Copyright © 2002 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved